We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.


by Joe Snape

  • Record/Vinyl + Digital Album

    Limited-edition vinyl featuring artwork by Suze Whaites, and double-sided A1 fold-out poster of 9 video stills by Leonie Brandner.

    Download of 'Joyrobix' dropped in to your account on purchase

    Includes unlimited streaming of Joyrobix via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 5 days
    Purchasable with gift card

      £16 GBP or more 


  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      £5 GBP  or more


Behind Glass 02:20
Matter With 04:00
Arteries 02:58
Joyrobix 03:26
Plus One 01:48


'Joyrobix' is Brummy-abroad Joe Snape’s flooring return to Slip: a songbook of nimble, aching pop that wrings raggedy solace from dejection and displacement.

Begun as a danceable refix of pieces for chamber ensemble toured the last three years, production on 'Joyrobix' stalled sharply in 2016. Instead of a self-confident exercise in documentation, the record twisted into a darker, more lyrical original: a period portrait of dislocation and burnout following Snape's move to the US in 2015.

There’s still plenty of fun to be had. Between the adult contemporary guitars, gospel grooves, and Broadway melisma, the tropes of a musical America are present, correct, and indefatigably uptempo.

But even at his most playful, Snape sounds like a musical mind running on fumes, the optimistic experimentalism of 2015's 'Brittle Love' audible only through a weary cloud, and the black dog never altogether quieted. Nor could it be: 'Joyrobix' sounds like a working-out – here manic, there taciturn – of a New World dream gone sideways.

'Joyrobix' [SLP047] is available on vinyl LP and download from April 2019. Mastered by Giuseppe Ielasi. Artwork by Suze Whaites. Distributed by Boomkat.


released April 4, 2019

Written and Performed by Joe Snape

Artwork by Suze Whaites
Mastered by Giuseppe Ielasi

Jesse Chevan drums on tracks 1-9
Will Gardner saxophone on tracks 1, 2, 7 & 9
Suze Whaites oboe on tracks 3, 5 & 9
Laurie Tompkins and Suze Whaites vocals on tracks 3, 6 & 9
Louise Snape cornet on tracks 5 & 8
Owen Roberts bass clarinet on tracks 8 & 9
Weston Olencki trombone on tracks 8 & 9


all rights reserved



Slip UK


contact / help

Contact Slip

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Joyrobix, you may also like: